<blockquote>“All the southern Germans are much nicer than us anyway, and the nicest ones, because they are the most natural, are the Bavarians.”<br/>
</blockquote>
Theodor Fontane (1819–1898), German author
“All the southern Germans are much nicer than us anyway, and the nicest ones, because they are the most natural, are the Bavarians.”
Theodor Fontane (1819–1898), German author

Evening on Lake Ammer
Image: Simon Katzer/Ullsteinbild

Stadtlust EN Gemeinsam sind wir stark! EN Heimatliebe und Weltoffenheit EN Starfotograf Juergen Teller EN „Be cool, be Bavarian!“ EN Gehörlos tanzen? Kassandra kann‘s! EN Weiß-blau-bunt EN Leben und Leben lassen En Aquarell :: Löwe EN Welcome DAHOAM EN

Live and let live.

If you ask a guest from abroad what his or her idea of the “typical Bavarian” is, the answer will probably focus on lederhosen and dirndl dresses, beer and roast pork. But there is a lot more to being “typically Bavarian”.

More than 12.6 million people live in the Free State of Bavaria. People from Altbayern, Franconians, Swabians and Sudeten Germans have made Bavaria the charming home state that it is, as well as turning it into a location with the best of opportunities. It is a wonderful place to live and work. That is why an increasing number of people are coming to Bavaria: since 1990, the population of the Free State has grown by a net 1.6 million inhabitants.

Bavaria is changing, but that special white-and-blue attitude towards life will remain: live and let live! This love of diversity forms the core of the proverbial liberalitas bavariae.

Up

Urban delights

Up

Together we are strong!

Her braided pigtail swings through the air like a lasso. Alysha skips through the dance hall to the sound of flute music. “She used to be really withdrawn,” her grandmother says. Things have been different ever since Alysha started dancing with 78-year-old Helga Koeppe in the therapeutic exercise class in Hassfurt’s multi-generational house.

The people there support each other – with lots of love. They are living the concept of a large family in a modern form, young and old learning from and with each other over four storeys.

Mothers meet up, accompanied by their babies, to participate in the toddlers’ group. Volunteers teach seniors how to use computers and smartphones. And it does not matter where anyone comes from: German class, music, arts and crafts, dancing – all these things unite families with and without a migration background.

Up

Down to earth, yet cosmopolitan

“Live and let live. It’s in Bavaria’s nature. Bavarians are conscious of tradition and down to earth. They love their home state, the landscape, the culture, and they’re not afraid to show it.”

Franz Beckenbauer (born 1945), Bavarian football legend and honorary president of FC Bayern Munich.
Image: Tina Berning

12,636,006

Population of Bavaria.
Germany: 80,925,031
(as of June 2014)
State capital (Munich): 1,493,900
(as of February 2015)

Image: Tina Berning

“I grew up in Würzburg and will always be rooted in my home state of Bavaria. I come home for a few weeks every summer, and as soon as I step through the door, I am once again my young self, my parents’ son. My parents are down-to-earth. My mother still gives me pocket money when I’m in Würzburg. I like to spend my time there with friends and family.”

Dirk Nowitzki (born 1978), basketball player in the National Basketball Association (NBA) (Source : Süddeutsche Zeitung, 2014 : “Wochenend-Interview. Dirk Nowitzki über Bescheidenheit” SZ No 205 from 06./07.11. 2014.)
Image: Tina Berning

36 %

Around 36 per cent of people over 14 years of age in Bavaria are active as volunteers ‒ that’s more than one out of every three people.

Up

Juergen Teller is one of the style-defining and most influential photographers in the world. “Perfection bores me.”

He has stuffed Kate Moss into a wheelbarrow and Victoria Beckham into a shopping bag. And his pictures of Kurt Cobain, Elton John and Björk are world-famous. Juergen Teller revolutionised fashion photography by searching for what it really means to be human instead of trying to create the appearance of perfection.

This special style of capturing people just how they are might also have something to do with his background. Juergen Teller grew up in the Middle Franconian town of Bubenreuth in a family that made violins. An allergy to dust prevented him from carrying on the family tradition. He searched for other paths and studied photography in Munich.

Today, the Franconian himself is a global star and lives in London. Yet he still enjoys returning to the place where he grew up. Since 2014, Teller has been a guest professor for photography at the Academy of Fine Arts in Nuremberg.

Up
Image: Tina Berning

Up

Fresh, flash fashion – Bavaria’s attire is turning heads. “Be cool, be Bavarian!”

Christina Kronawitter has been wearing dirndls and lederhosen since she was at school. “Back then, they would all say: What do you look like?!” Nowadays, it is a matter of course for young people in Bavaria to wear their home state on their sleeve. A squad of young fashion designers is mixing traditional garb with modern elements. Like 37-year-old Kronawitter, for instance, who runs a store in the Lower Bavarian city of Straubing. Bed linen, tablecloths and curtains all serve as material for her special pieces.

“There are no fixed rules about how to wear a dirndl,” the fashionista explains. “Whether retro, romantic or a tad rock-starish, I want to use my fashion to convey this special attitude towards life: be cool, be Bavarian!”

Incidentally, the position of the dirndl’s bow says quite a lot about the wearer: front left means “still available!”, front right says “already taken!”

Up

Dancing without hearing? Kassandra can. “I feel the beat in my belly!”

Thirteen dancers stand in the mirror-walled hall of the GSC dance school in Munich. The music starts up, and their hip-hop moves effortlessly match up with the rhythm. How can anyone dance so masterfully without hearing the music?

At the age of three, Kassandra Wedel lost her ability to hear in a car accident. Seven of her students are also hearing-impaired. “I feel the rhythm with my whole body. All you need is some good bass to carry the vibrations into the room.” For ten years, Kassandra has been teaching hip-hop to both hearing-impaired and hearing-able students alike. “Nikita” is the name of her integrative dance group.

In 2001, the passionate hip-hop artist became the German national champion. In 2012, she became German national champion and world vice champion with “Nikita”, also taking home the world champion title in both solo and duo events. “Dancing gives me a sense of freedom and confidence.” And it helps in overcoming prejudice. “Because dancing is a passion that connects us all.”

Up

White, blue, diverse: Bavaria is growing

Since 1990, almost 780,000 people have come from outside Germany to find a new home in Bavaria. Major Bavarian cities have a greater population of people with a history of migration than does Berlin, for example. They value the human connection that Bavaria has to offer.

Up

Video

Activation required

By clicking on this video, YouTube videos will be automatically displayed on www.welcomedahoam.com in future. Please note that data will be transmitted to YouTube once you have enabled activation. You can permanently activate the playing of videos with a single click or deactivate this feature permanently by clicking on the data protection button.

More information
Up

<blockquote>„All die Süddeutschen sind überhaupt viel netter als wir, und die nettesten, weil die natürlichsten, sind die Bayern.“ </blockquote>
Theodor Fontane (1819-1898), deutscher Schriftsteller
„All die Süddeutschen sind überhaupt viel netter als wir, und die nettesten, weil die natürlichsten, sind die Bayern.“
Theodor Fontane (1819-1898), deutscher Schriftsteller

Abendstimmung am Ammersee
Bild: Simon Katzer/Ullsteinbild

Leben und leben lassen. Stadtlust Gemeinsam sind wir stark! Heimatliebe und Weltoffenheit Starfotograf Juergen Teller „Be cool, be Bavarian!“ Gehörlos tanzen? Kassandra kann‘s! Weiß-blau-bunt Aquarell :: Löwe Welcome DAHOAM

Leben und leben lassen.

Fragt man einen Gast aus dem Ausland, was er sich unter Bayern vorstellt, wird die Antwort wohl um Lederhosen und Dirndl, Bier und Schweinshaxe kreisen. Aber „typisch bayerisch“, das ist noch viel mehr.

Im Freistaat leben mehr als 12,6 Millionen Menschen. Altbayern, Franken, Schwaben und die Sudetendeutschen haben Bayern zu einer liebenswerten Heimat und zu einem Standort mit besten Chancen gemacht. Hier lässt es sich gut leben und arbeiten. Deshalb ziehen immer mehr Menschen nach Bayern – seit 1990 über 1,6 Millionen.

Bayern verändert sich, aber das besondere weiß-blaue Lebensgefühl bleibt. Dazu gehört: Leben und leben lassen. Diese Freude an der Vielfalt ist Kern der sprichwörtlichen „liberalitas bavariae“.

nach oben

Stadtlust

nach oben

Gemeinsam sind wir stark!

Ihr geflochtener Zopf schwingt durch die Luft wie ein Lasso. Zur Flötenmusik springt Alysha durch den Tanzraum. „Früher war sie sehr verschlossen“, erzählt ihre Oma. Das hat sich geändert, seit Alysha bei der 78-jährigen Helga Koeppe im Mehrgenerationenhaus Haßfurt in der Bewegungstherapie tanzt.

Hier im Haus unterstützen sich die Menschen gegenseitig – mit viel Liebe. Sie leben das Prinzip Großfamilie in moderner Form: Auf vier Etagen lernen Jung und Alt von- und miteinander.

Mütter treffen sich mit ihren Babys zur Krabbelgruppe. Ehrenamtliche beraten Senioren im Umgang mit Computer und Smartphone. Die Herkunft spielt dabei keine Rolle: Deutschkurs, musizieren, basteln, tanzen – all das vereint Familien mit und ohne Migrationsgeschichte.

nach oben

Heimatliebe und Weltoffenheit

Aquarell von Franz Beckenbauer

„Leben und leben lassen. Das ist charakteristisch für Bayern. Der Bayer ist traditionsbewusst und bodenständig. Er liebt seine Heimat, die Landschaft, die Kultur, und das zeigt er auch.“

Franz Beckenbauer (*1945), bayerische Fußball-Legende und Ehrenpräsident des FC Bayern München
Bild: Tina Berning

12 636 006

Bevölkerung Bayern.
Bevölkerung Deutschland: 80 925 031
(Stand: Juni 2014)
Landeshauptstadt München: 1 493 900
(Stand: Februar 2015)

Aquarell eines Trachtenpaars

Bild: Tina Berning

Aquarell von Dirk Nowitzki

„Ich bin in Würzburg aufgewachsen und werde mit meiner Heimat Bayern immer verwurzelt sein. Jeden Sommer komme ich für ein paar Wochen nach Hause und in dem Moment, in dem ich über die Türschwelle gehe, bin ich wieder der kleine Dirk, der Sohn meiner Eltern. Meine Eltern sind bodenständig. Meine Mutter gibt mir noch heute Taschengeld, wenn ich in Würzburg bin. Dort verbringe ich gerne meine Zeit mit Freunden und meiner Familie.“

Dirk Nowitzki (*1978), Basketballspieler in der US-Profiliga NBA (Quelle: Süddeutsche Zeitung, 2014: „Wochenend-Interview. Dirk Nowitzki über Bescheidenheit“, SZ Nr. 205 vom 06./07.11.2014.)
Bild: Tina Berning

36%

Rund 36 Prozent der über 14-Jährigen in Bayern sind ehrenamtlich aktiv – das ist mehr als jeder Dritte.

nach oben

Juergen Teller ist einer der stilprägenden und einflussreichsten Fotografen weltweit. „Perfektion langweilt mich.“

Er hat Kate Moss in eine Schubkarre gepackt und Victoria Beckham in eine Einkaufstüte. Auch seine Aufnahmen von Kurt Cobain, Elton John und Björk sind weltberühmt. Juergen Teller revolutionierte die Modefotografie, weil er nicht den perfekten Schein inszeniert, sondern die wahre Menschlichkeit sucht.

Vielleicht hat dieser besondere Stil, Menschen zu zeigen, wie sie sind, auch etwas mit seiner Herkunft zu tun. Aufgewachsen ist Juergen Teller im mittelfränkischen Ort Bubenreuth in einer Geigenbauerfamilie. Eine Stauballergie hinderte ihn daran, die Familientradition fortzuführen. Er wählte andere Wege und studierte in München Fotografie.

Heute ist der Franke ein Weltstar und lebt in London. Noch immer kehrt er gerne in seine Heimat zurück. Seit 2014 lehrt Teller als Gastprofessor für Fotografie an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Nürnberg.

nach oben
Aquarell eines Löwen Bild: Tina Berning

nach oben

Frische fesche Fashion – Bayern zieht an. „Be cool, be Bavarian!“

Schon als Schülerin trug Christina Kronawitter Dirndl und Lederhose. „Damals haben noch alle gesagt: Ja, wie schaust denn du aus?“ Heute trägt die Jugend im Freistaat ganz selbstverständlich ihre Heimat auf dem Leib. Eine Riege junger Modedesigner mixt traditionelle Tracht mit modernen Elementen. So wie die 37-jährige Kronawitter, die im niederbayerischen Straubing einen Laden betreibt. Bettwäsche, Tischdecken oder Vorhänge dienen ihr dabei als Material für ihre besonderen Stücke.

„Feste Regeln, wie ein Dirndl zu tragen ist, gibt es nicht“, erklärt die Modemacherin. „Ob retro, romantisch oder a bisserl rockig: Mit meiner Mode möchte ich dieses besondere Lebensgefühl vermitteln: Be cool, be Bavarian!“

Die Stelle, an der eine Dirndlschleife gebunden wird, verrät übrigens so einiges über die Trägerin: Vorderseite links – „noch zu haben“, Vorderseite rechts – „schon vergeben“.

nach oben

Gehörlos tanzen? Kassandra kann‘s. „Ich fühle den Beat im Bauch!“

13 Tänzer stehen im Spiegelsaal der Münchner Tanzschule GSC. Als die Musik einsetzt, finden ihre Hip-Hop-Moves mühelos in den Rhythmus. Wie kann man so präzise tanzen, ohne die Musik zu hören?

Im Alter von drei Jahren verlor Kassandra Wedel durch einen Autounfall ihr Gehör, sieben ihrer Schüler sind ebenfalls gehörlos. „Ich fühle den Rhythmus mit meinem ganzen Körper. Es braucht nur einen guten Bass, der die Schwingungen in den Raum transportiert.“ Seit zehn Jahren unterrichtet Kassandra Gehörlose und Hörende im Hip-Hop. „Nikita“ heißt ihre integrative Tanzgruppe.

2001 wurde die leidenschaftliche Hip-Hopperin Deutsche Meisterin. 2012 wurde sie mit „Nikita“ Deutscher Meister und Vizeweltmeister, im Solo und im Duo holte sich Kassandra die Weltmeistertitel. „Tanzen schenkt mir Freiheit und Selbstbewusstsein.“ Und es hilft, Vorurteile zu überwinden: „Denn Tanz ist eine Leidenschaft, die uns alle verbindet.“

nach oben

Weiß-blau-bunt: Bayern wächst.

Seit 1990 haben fast 780 000 Menschen aus dem Ausland in Bayern eine neue Heimat gefunden. In bayerischen Großstädten leben mehr Menschen mit Migrationsgeschichte als beispielsweise in Berlin. Sie schätzen die Vielfalt und ihre Möglichkeiten.

nach oben

Video

Aktivierung erforderlich

Durch das Klicken auf dieses Video werden in Zukunft Youtube-Videos auf www.welcomedahoam.com eingeblendet. Wir möchten Sie darauf hinweisen, dass nach der Aktivierung Daten an Youtube übermittelt werden. Sie können mit einem Klick dauerhaft das Abspielen aktivieren oder im Datenschutzschalter die Aktivierung auch dauerhaft wieder rückgängig machen.

Weitere Informationen
nach oben